Puttin’ On the Ritz

I love Ritz chicken. The salt from the Ritz crackers blends perfectly with the chicken, and absorbs the butter flavor without it becoming too powerful. It’s also one of my many chicken recipes that requires no preparation beforehand. Sometimes it’s hard enough for me to remember to thaw something, let alone marinate it overnight! So when I arrive home for dinner, hungry and tired, and I’m faced with a simple hunk of thawed chicken, this is one of the recipes I turn to. Of note, this recipe can be gluten-free with the right cracker.

Ritz Chicken

Preparation:
none

Approximate Cooking Time:
45 minutes

Ingredients:
1 egg
1 1/2 cups crushed Ritz crackers
1/2 t. garlic salt
2 chicken breast halves, chopped into thin pieces the size of your palm
1 stick of butter

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Crack the egg into a wide, shallow bowl and whisk. Put the Ritz crackers in a plastic baggie and crush into tiny pieces, then pour them into a separate wide, shallow bowl. Add the garlic salt to the bowl with the crushed crackers, and mix.



Preparing the egg and crackers.


Prepare a small, square baking dish by spraying with a non-stick spray if desired. Chop the chicken into smaller pieces. Dip the chicken piece into the egg, then roll it around in the crackers until it is completely covered, and then put it into the baking dish. Repeat for all chicken pieces, then chop the butter into 1/2 T. pieces and arrange around the dish. Put the chicken in the oven and cook until the juices run clear or the chicken is no longer pink inside.


Before cooking.


After cooking.

Special Notes:
I chop the chicken breasts into smaller pieces because it helps me watch my portion size. If the pieces are smaller than I don’t find myself with a huge piece, finishing it for the sake of not wasting it. I also find that chicken cooks faster when it’s cut thinner. When it cooks faster, not only do I get to eat faster, but it doesn’t dry out as much as a larger piece would. Usually I cut a standard chicken breast in half to make it thinner, and then chop the those thinner pieces into chunks about the size of my palm. I cut it to about the size of my palm because that’s about one serving of meat. I usually try to eat two a meal. Hubby will usually eat three or four servings because he is much bigger than me.

This recipe was slightly modified from what I found at http://allrecipes.com/recipe/famous-butter-chicken/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=famous%20butter%20chicken&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page.

I usually serve this recipe with corn muffins or mashed potatoes because they compliment the butter / salt flavor very well. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

