Special Weekend Breakfasts

Hubby doesn’t like breakfast too much, but sometimes, if I can tempt him enough, he’ll eat something. My previously-posted crepes recipe is guaranteed to get him out of bed and into the kitchen, but I have other tricks up my sleeve too. Today I thought I’d share some of my bread recipes with you – specifically, banana bread and pumpkin. I love that not only will hubby get some good nutrients into him from homemade breads packed with pumpkin and bananas, but I can add nuts to them and make them even more healthy.

Today I will post the banana bread recipe. This recipe is truly my own, because one day when I was making it I didn’t pay attention and added too much salt. When I realized my mistake I worried that it would taste awful, but when hubby tried it he smiled and said “You just turned a dessert bread into a breakfast bread. I like this even better!” So I never tried the old recipe again.

Banana Bread

Preparation:
none

Approximate Cooking Time:
1 hour

Ingredients:
3 or 4 very ripe bananas
1/3 c. melted butter
3/4 c. sugar
1 egg
1 t. vanilla
1 t. baking soda
1 t. salt
1 1/2 c. flour
1/4 – 1/2 c. chopped nuts, if desired

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Smash the bananas and mix them with the butter. Add the sugar, egg and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt evenly over the mixture and stir. Finally add the flour and nuts and pour into greased baking pans. Bake for at least 25 mins for small pans and 40 mins for larger pans. Check by inserting a knife and seeing if it comes out clean.

(My apologies for the lack of picture. We ate it all before I could take a picture!)

I learned this great hint about breads from my mother: If you’re not sure if the inside of your bread is cooked all the way through, turn off the oven and leave it closed. Don’t open it or the heat will get out. When the oven has cooled off the bread will have firmed up in the middle. Do not do this in the inside is still mushy, but rather only if you’re not completely sure it’s cooked.

This recipe can also be gluten-free if you substitute some almond meal for flour. I think the almond flavor would blend very well. If you try that please let me know!

Pumpkin bread will be posted soon!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

