Homemade Brioche with Mirabelle Plum Jam

A week or so ago, hubby found an online recipe for brioche here, and asked if I would be willing to try it. My previous experiments with bread hadn’t gone so well but I figured I’d give this one a shot. I had a bit of extra time on my hands and figured that hot, homemade bread would be worth the wait.

Brioche

Preparation:
none

Approximate Cooking Time:
4 hours

Ingredients:
1 2/3 c. flour
2 T. butter, room temperature
2 eggs, room temperature, plus one extra yolk for glaze
1 packet yeast
2 T. sugar
1/3 c. milk, warmed
1 pinch salt

Directions:
Mix the flour with the yeast, then make a hole in the middle. Add the warm milk slowly and mix with your fingers. Next add the sugar and salt, then the butter. Add the butter one piece at a time, mixing between each. Finally, add the eggs one at a time, mixing well between each. Work the dough until it is elastic and stretches between your fingers (this may take a while, but the longer you work the dough, the better the breast tastes). Put the dough back in the bowl and allow it to rise in a warm, non-drafty place for at least 2 hours.

When the bread has risen, work the dough for 10 more minutes, then divide it into 4 balls. Select the pan you wish to cook the brioche in (I suggest a small but long and deep pan – I used a long banana bread pan), and grease it, and put the dough balls in (you want to have some space in the pan so the bread can rise, but not too much or the dough will be spread too thin and won’t form a puffy loaf). Let the bread rise for 1 more hour.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Add a dash of sugar to the egg yolk and gently brush the mixture on top of the dough. Make small cuts on each dough ball with scissors, if desired. Bake for 10 minutes at 400 degrees, then reduce the heat to 350 degrees and bake for an additional 20 to 30 minutes.

My apologies for not having a picture, because my picture was somehow deleted. Soon after I made and consumed most of the brioche, I received a fruit share I had purchased from an Amish food supplier I sometimes buy from. In the fruit share were peaches, a cantaloupe, and some small yellow fruit that I had never seen before. After a bit of research I found these were Mirabelle plums, which somehow manage to be very tart and very sweet at the same time.


Picture courtesy of Vanilla Garlic.

Mirabelle plums make great jam, and jam makes a great compliment to the rest of my brioche, so off I went. I found this recipe, which required no extra ingredients and jelled wonderfully.

Mirabelle Plum Jam

Preparation:
allow plums to ripen

Approximate Cooking Time:
45 minutes

Ingredients:
10-12 ripe Mirabelle plums
3/4 – 1 c. sugar

Directions:
Prepare your canning jars by sterilizing and drying them. Boil water if you can using the water bath method.

Wash, drain and pit the plums. Cut the plums into smaller pieces, and heat on a saucepan at medium-high heat. Add the sugar and mix. Bring the mixture to a gentle boil, stirring constantly. When the mixture looks homogenous (after approximately 20 minutes), pour it into the jars, leaving some space below the lid.

Seal the jars tightly and immerse in boiling water, with at least 2 inches of water over the top of the can, for at least 10 minutes. Be careful that the boiling water does not cool down or rock the jars. When the jars are processed, remove them from the water and sit on a flat surface. The lids should pop down within the next 24 hours. If the lids do not vacuum seal, put the jar in the fridge and consume immediately.


Canning is not a perfect process, but it sure saves money.

Now that I’ve started canning a bit, I find the process so much easier than I expected. It’s a great way to use up old produce. Feel free to taste test your jam mixture as it’s cooking (without burning your tongue)!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

